Burema, Pieter

Pieter Burema

Judge Portrait Pieter Burema: 

I was born in 1952 in the Netherlands.

All my life I was surrounded by dogs. In the past my grandfather was breeding Newfoundland dogs under the kennel name „van Buruf“. This name was taken over by my mother and now I continue to use it. I think, that there are not many breeders, constantly using their kennel name in one family over 75 years. My mother bred too, first Newfoundland dogs and Samoyede (one of her last puppies belonged to Queen Wilhelmina) and after all Shih Tzu. We have had other races too, like Afghans and Whippet. My own first dog was a Whippet.

In 1969 my mother got her first Shih Tzu, “Jungfältet’s Pi-Tzé”, a daughter of a Swedish import, the first bitch of the famous Oranje-Manege-breed. My duty was to cope with the exhibitions, so I grew up more and more into the dog’s world and after all I became co-breeder of my mother. She died in 1977 very suddenly and I inherited the kennel.
In 1979 I got married and my wife loves dogs very much as well.

  • In 1983 I became board member of the breed association, the Peek and Toy Club, which appointed me to a member of honour.
  • In 1990 I initiated the foundation of a Shih Tzu breed club in the Netherlands and supported it during the first five years as a secretary.
  • In 1981 I presented my wife a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. This bitch was such a beauty, that it simply had to be exhibited. At the age of 16 it died, but it was still the most awarded dog of the Netherlands. We had several litters from this breeding bitch; one of the sons became champion.
  • In 1985 I was nominated judge for Japan Chin. Now I‘m judging all breeds of FCI group 9 and Samoyede. Beside the Netherlands, I judged in Germany, France, Belgium, Great Britain, Sweden, Finland, Denmark and Ireland.
  • 2005 the Dutch Kennel Club awarded me with the golden needle of honour.

Pieter Burema says, to accommodate judging with breeding and exhibitions is very difficult, but my wife and me still have Shih Tzu and we hope to keep them in the future, because we can't imagine to live without dogs.

Burema, Pieter

Pieter Burema

Richterportrait Pieter Burema: 

Ich bin 1952 in den Niederlanden geboren.

Mein ganzes Leben lang war ich von Hunden umgeben. Mein Großvater züchtete unter dem Zwingernamen „van Buruf“ Neufundländer; diesen Namen übernahm meine Mutter und nun benutze ich ihn. Ich glaube nicht, dass es viele Züchter gibt, deren Zwingername in der Familie über länger als 75 Jahre besteht. Meine Mutter züchtete ebenfalls, erst Neufundländer und Samojeden (einer ihrer Welpen gehörte der letzen Königin Wilhelmina) und letzten Endes Shih-Tzu. Wir hatten jedoch auch andere Rassen wie Afghanen und Whippet. Mein erster eigener Hund war ein Whippet.

1969 bekam meine Mutter ihren ersten Shih-Tzu, Tochter eines schwedischen Imports, Jungfältets Pi-Tzé, erste Hündin der berühmten Oranje-Manege-Zucht. Meine Aufgabe waren die Hundeausstellungen, so wuchs ich mehr und mehr in die Hundewelt hinein und wurde der Co-Züchter meiner Mutter. 1977 starb meine Mutter plötzlich, und ich übernahm den Zwinger. 1979 heiratete ich und meine Frau liebt Hunde sehr.

  • 1983 wurde ich Vorstandsmitglied des Zuchtvereins, des Peek- und Toy Spaniel Clubs, der mich zum Ehrenmitglied ernannte. 1990 initiierte ich die Gründung eines Shih- Tzu Zucht-clubs in Holland und unterstützte diesen in seinen ersten fünf Jahren als Sekretär.
  • 1981 schenkte ich meiner Frau einen Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. Diese Hündin wurde so schön, dass ich sie einfach ausstellen musste. Sie starb mit 16 Jahren und ist noch immer die mit den meisten Preisen bedachte Hündin der Niederlande. Wir hatten einige Würfe von ihr, einer ihrer Söhne wurde Champion.
  • 1985 wurde ich zum Richter ernannt für Japan Chin. Ich richte nun alle Rassen der FCI-Gruppe 9 und Samojeden. Außer in Holland richtete ich in Deutschland, Frankreich, Belgien, Großbritannien, Schweden, Finnland, Dänemark und Irland.
  • 2005 zeichnete mich der Dutch Kennel Club mit der Goldenen Ehrennadel aus.

Pieter Burema sagt, das Richten ist schwer in Einklang zu bringen mit Ausstellungen und Züchtung, aber meine Frau und ich haben immer noch Shih-Tzu und hoffen, sie auch noch in Zukunft zu haben, weil wir uns ein Leben ohne Hunde nicht vorstellen können.